The Classical character of the Museum’s architecture makes it one of the most distinctive buildings in Armagh. Opened in 1937 as Ireland’s first county museum, its collections capture centuries of stories relating to the people who lived, worked and had connections with Armaghw city, county and surrounding areas.
The displays are wide ranging from archaeological objects to costume and textiles and from ceramics and folkcraft to natural history and transport history. The museum’s impressive art collection includes works by many well-known Irish artists such as AE Russell, John Luke and JB Vallely.
Staff aim to ensure that all visitors feel welcome and are keen to help with enquiries. There is an extensive reference library, rich in local archive material, along with photographic and map collections. The museum’s programme of changing exhibitions throughout the year, means it is an ideal place to begin and explore the fair county of Armagh.
Visitor information is also available at the museum.