Skip Navigation

Museum closures across Northern Ireland

The majority of accredited local museums across Northern Ireland are now closed to the public.

20 March 2020


The NI Museums Council can now confirm that most local museums across Northern Ireland are now closed to the public.  Please remember that museum staff are still working – in the office, or remotely from home.

Our local museums are coming up with creative online programmes and ways of keeping in touch.

As of 12 noon on Friday 20 March 2020 the following accredited local museums are now closed:


  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council - Armagh County Museum, Barn Museum and F.E. McWilliam Gallery & Studio
  • Armagh Robinson Library and No 5 Vicar’s Hill
  • Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council – museums in Ballycastle, Ballymoney, Coleraine (Town Hall), Green Lane in Limavady
  • Derry City and Strabane District Council – Tower Museum
  • Garvagh Museum
  • Linen Hall Library
  • Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council (Irish Linen Centre & Lisburn Museum)
  • Mid and East Antrim Borough Council – Andrew Jackson Cottage/US Rangers Museum, Carrickfergus Museum and Mid-Antrim Museum at the Braid
  • Milford House Collection
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council – Down County Museum and Newry & Mourne Museum
  • Somme Museum
  • The National Trust – Houses only – Ardress House, The Argory, Castle Ward, Florence Court, Hezlett House, Mount Stewart and Springhill
  • Whitehead Railway Museum